FVSU Wimbush Is A Finalist For Hill Award

By Off the BASN Sports Wire
Updated: November 28, 2004

Derrick Wimbush

FORT VALLEY, Ga. — Fort Valley State running back Derrick Wimbush has been named a national finalist for the Harlon Hill Trophy as the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year.

Wimbush, a 6’2, 220-pound senior running back from Mauk, Georgia, played a key role in leading the Wildcats to a 7-4 record (4-4 in the SIAC). During the 2004 season, Wimbush rushed for 1,840 yards and scored 22 rushing touchdowns, both school records.

He led the SIAC in rushing for the entire season, and was selected as the league’s offensive player of the week five times. He was an honorable mention D2football.com “Offensive Player of the Week” and was selected by Don Hansen’s Football Gazette as an honorable mention “Player of the Week” as well.

Derrick has also been named to the 2004 All-SIAC team as a first unit member, and picked up the “Offensive Player of the Year” award. Wimbush also received the nod from the league as its “Most Valuable Player.”

On a national note, Wimbush finished the regular season ranked third in the nation in rushing (167.3 ypg), tied for sixth in scoring (12.2 ppg.) and seventh in the country (Division II) in all purpose yardage (167.3 ypg).

In two years at Fort Valley, Wimbush rushed for 3,188 yards, scored 36 touchdowns, averaged 7.4 yards per carry and averaged 144.9 yards a game.

Wimbush was also one of the top two players from the Southeast region who advanced through regional voting. Two players from the Northeast, Northwest and Southwest regions joined Wimbush and Arkansas-Monticello quarterback Cory Allred as national finalists.

The finalists were selected by the NCAA Division II sports information directors in regional voting and will now be placed on the national ballot where all 156 of the division’s SIDs will select the award’s nineteenth winner.

Click Here

Advancing from the Northeast region are quarterback Marc Eddy of Bentley and quarterback Jimmy Terwilliger of East Stroudsburg. Finalists from the Southeast region are Wimbush and Allred. Tailback Lee Marana of Michigan Tech and wide receiver Chris Samp of Winona State advanced from the Northwest region, and quarterbacks Drew Beard of SE Oklahoma State and Chad Friehauf of Colorado-Mines were selected from the Southwest Region.

National voting concluded on November 29 and the top three finishers will be invited to the Shoals for the presentation banquet. The winner of the award will be announced at the Harlon Hill Trophy and Division II Football Hall of Fame Banquet on Friday, December 10, in Florence, AL prior to the Division II Football Championship game on December 11.